×Maklumat dalam halaman ini disediakan dalam versi Bahasa Inggeris sahaja untuk mengekalkan maksud asal. Sekiranya ia diterjemah ke Bahasa Malaysia, maksudnya mungkin berbeza dan lari dari maksud asal

CODEX Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consist of:

  1. Chairperson of the Commission
  2. Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission
  3. Regional Coordinators – Asia, Latin Americas and the Caribbean, Europe, North America and South Western Pacific, Near East, Africa
  4. Seven (7) Members elected on a geographical basis

The Executive Committee may make proposals to the Commission regarding general orientation, strategic planning, and programming of the work of the Commission, study special problems and assist in the management of the Commission’s programme of standard development.

The Executive Committee shall consider specific matters referred to it by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO as well as estimate expenditure for the Commission’s proposed programme of work.

The Executive Committee may establish such sub-committees from among its Members as it may deem necessary to enable it to exercise its functions as effectively as possible.

The Executive Committee shall normally meet immediately prior to each session of the Commission and as often as necessary by the Director-General of FAO and WHO, in consultation with the Chairperson.

CODEX Alimentarius Commission

How does the Codex Alimentarius Commission operate?

The CAC operates through the following organizational elements:

  • Executive Committee
  • Codex Secretariat
  • General Subject Committees
  • Commodity Committees
  • Regional Coordinating Committees
  • Ad Hoc Intergovernmental Task Forces

General Subject Committees deal with general issues which apply across the board to all commodity standards. They are commonly referred to as “Horizontal Committees”.

Commodity Committees are responsible for developing standards for specific foods or classes of foods. They are often referred to as “Vertical Committees”.

Ad Hoc Intergovernmental Task Forces are established on ad hoc basis to address specific issues and will be dissolved on completion of the work.

Regional Coordinating Committees have no standing host countries. Meetings are hosted by countries of a region.

  • Africa
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Near East
  • North America and Southwest Pacific